Updated on March 11th, 2024 at 11:24 am

Principal of the Year Award

Each year, OASSA and NASSP sponsor an award for the Ohio Principal of the Year. Applications for the Ohio award are available on the OASSA website, and must be received in the OASSA office by the designated deadline. The state recipient is selected by a panel of judges representing the OASSA Board of Directors. The Ohio Principal of the Year is recognized at the OASSA Fall Conference and receives a signet ring from the Herff Jones Company.

The Ohio Principal of the Year is given the opportunity to compete for the NASSP National Principal of the Year. A separate application is required, as well as membership in NASSP.  The 2024-2025 Principal of the Year Nomination window closed on Feb. 9th, 2024.  Stay tuned for the announcement of the 24-25 OASSA Principal of the Year!

High School Award Recipients

2024 – Dr. Michael Martin
Buckeye Central High School, Buckeye Central Local Schools

2023 – Robert Knisely
Perry Middle School, Perry Local Schools

2022 – Monica Asher
Olentangy Orange High School, Olentangy Local Schools

2021 – Peter Cole
Carey High School, Carey Exempted Village Schools

2020 – Jeffrey Legan
Mayfield High School, Mayfield City Schools

2019 – Dr. Mark Smithberger
Strongsville High School, Strongsville City Schools

2018 – Chuck Rinkes
River View High School, River View Local Schools

2017 – Dean Frank
Edgewood Middle School, Wooster City Schools

2016 – Angie Adrean
Worthington Kilbourne High School, Worthington City Schools

2015 – Jeffrey Fisher
Chillicothe High School, Chillicothe City

2014 – Andy Fetchik
Chardon High School, Chardon Local

2013 – Dr. Joanie Walker
Avon Lake High School, Avon Lake City

2012 – Dr. Bill Wagner
Lakewood High School, Lakewood City

2011 – Roger Howard
Independence High School, Independence Local

2010 – Brenda Frankart
Liberty-Benton High School, Liberty-Benton Local

2009 – Dr. James J. Schoenlein
Kettering Fairmont High School, Kettering City

2008 – Doug Delong
Chardon High School, Chardon Local

2007 – Bob Hunt
Chagrin Falls High School, Chagrin Falls City

2006 – Dr. Joanie Hines
Bedford High School, Bedford City

2005 – Russell Jones
Aurora High School, Aurora City

2004 – Charles Keenan
Canton McKinley High School, Canton City

2003 – Randy L. Addy
Newcomerstown High School, Newcomerstown EVSD

2002 – John Payne
Chillicothe High School, Chillicothe City

2001 – Dr. Ted Zigler
Wm. Henry Harrison High School, Southwest Local

2000 – Dr. Dianna Lindsay
Worthington Kilbourne High School, Worthington City

1999 – Dr. Kathy Crates
Findlay High School, Findlay City

1998 – Jeffrey Reinhard
Hilliard Darby High School, Hilliard City

1997 – James McCann
Westerville North High School, Westerville City

1996 – Dennis Matthews
Withrow High School, Cincinnati City

1995 – Ed Palmer
Franklin Hts. High School, South-Western City

1994 – Shelley Hamler
Peter H. Clark Academy, Cincinnati City

1993 – James Osborn
Independence High School, Columbus City

1992 – Linda Robertson
Aurora High School, Aurora City

1991 – Tom Rutan
Grove City High School, South-Western City

1990 – Philip Hobbs
Eastmoor High School, Columbus City

Middle Level Award Recipients

2015 – Craig Vroom
Weaver Middle School, Hilliard City School District

2014 – Sheryl Burk 
Wilson Middle School, Hamilton City School District

2013 – Rebecca Holthaus
Chagrin Falls Middle School, Chagrin Falls Exempted Village

2012 – Joe Niemantsverdriet
Revere Middle School, Revere Local

2011 – Dr. Matt Lutz
Walnut Springs Middle School, Westerville City

2010 – Belinda Scott
R.B. Chamberlin Middle School, Twinsburg City

2009 – Felisha Cheatem
Perkins Middle School, Akron City

2008 – Mary Riepenhoff
Van Wert Middle School, Van Wert City

2007 – Thom Jones
Dover Middle School, Dover City

2006 – Tom Burton
Cuyahoga Heights Middle School, Cuyahoga Heights Local

2005 – Amy Anderson
Northridge Middle School, Northridge Local, Licking County

2004 – Pamela Van Horn
Worthington Kilbourne Middle School, Worthington City

2003 – Douglas S. Lowery
Memorial Middle School, Hilliard City

2002 – Charles Beard
Napoleon Middle School, Napoleon Area City

2001 – Ed Vittardi
Independence Middle School, Independence Local

2000 – Santha Stall
Willis Intermediate School, Delaware City